top of page
shalaynastonjeck

Teaching and Google: What's the Deal?

Prior to taking EdTech, I only really used a couple of Google's apps. I predominantly just used Google Docs , Slides and Earth. I would have considered myself quite the competent Google user, since I was quite skilled on the apps listed above. However, now that I have explored the vast options that google has, I will no longer call myself an even intermediate Google user! I still have so much to learn! I still really like Google docs, as it allows me to swap documents between computers without having to constantly email myself! It also gives me and my peers opportunities for collaboration. I can share a single document and we can take notes as a group, compiling all of our thoughts into one space. Google docs and slides will also allow educators to place students in groups in the form of a single shared document. This shared document can then be monitored to see who is actually contributing to the assignment.

Some Google apps that really surprised me were Google Forms and Google Drawings! I made this image on the right with ZERO experience with the app. After watching a short YouTube tutorial I was able to take a real image of myself and cartoonify it! It is surprisingly simple that anyone can get the hang of. Since this app is so easy to use, it can be quickly integrated into your classroom! You can use it for diagrams or creative projects! Another app that proved surprisingly versatile was Google Forms. Before exploring this app in class I thought it was only for taking surveys or tests. After creating my own "Choose Your Own Adventure Story" and playing many digital escape rooms I am happy to use this app in my future endeavors! Using Google forms is also very simple and straightforward making it easy to bring into the classroom! Ditch That Textbook describes many ways that it can be integrated into learning!


Overall I feel like my eyes have been opened and that I am more willing to try out more Google apps. This experience remined me that Google really tries it's best to be user friendly and that I shouldn't doubt myself when it comes to experimenting with new Google apps.

コメント


bottom of page