top of page
shalaynastonjeck

Learning to Teach With Tech!


Technology can be complicated, but once you get the hang of it, it can sky-rocket your success as an educator like you would never expect! There are so many ways technology can be integrated to the classroom that one might begin to feel lost, but have no fear! A lot of the apps available just look confusing at first glance but are actually quite user friendly once you get into them! I created a music video using Capcut with ease, even though it had been my first time touching any type of video editing!


I say this, yet I would have greatly struggled if I had not taken EDTS 325 at the Medicine Hat College. Having a course specifically dedicated to teaching future educators how to intertwine technology in with their teaching is such an important thing, especially since COVID-19. Learning how to create and edit video was definitely the most important skill I developed over the course of this semester. This will allow me to switch onto online learning, without having to struggle though the deliver of course material simply because I am struggling with the technology.

Something that never occurred to me was how much teaching I received as a child that used technology as simple substitution. Understanding the SAMR model of digital learning will help me as a future educator. I will strive to use technology as a means to redefine the way my students learn, having them complete tasks that would be simply impossible to do without technological advancements.

With the rapid development of technology in our current world, educators must adapt along with it. This is the backbone of our jobs as career-long-learners! With new improvements to AI like ChatGTP, it is no longer feasible for teachers to avoid the use of digital tools. At this point, our students will be using them whether we want them to or not. The best way to work around this is to intergrade tech in a way that still facilitates healthy learning and high level Blooms!

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page